Art 499: dying 3-D objects

I did my last 499 project on dying three dimensional objects. 2 of these objects were dyed after they were made 3D, and one was purposefully made 3D after dying. The two that were made 3D prior to dying were wool. They were felted objects made via needle felting. They both turned out fantastic. The 3rd object was paper. I used tracing paper to see how the dye would take to a transparent paper. It turned out great. The colors in all three are vibrant. I used the same black and orange color palette as the last project. I gained inspiration from a blog about dying wool on a toy website called handmadefelttoys.com. This shows how to dye using food coloring and was essentially the same process, minus having to wash them with dishsoap prior to dying. imageimageimageimage

Leave a comment